ETTE

HomeHow-To Guides for UsersiPhone and iPad FAQAdding Additional Items to iCloud Back up on iPhone, or iPad

6. Adding Additional Items to iCloud Back up on iPhone, or iPad

With the ever-looming possibility of loosing data due to theft, data corruption, and various other threats of the day, its incredibly important to discuss backing up data on all devices regularly.  Backing up the data on your iPhone is no exception. It cannot only save you should unexpected events occur, but it can also aid in assisting you in restoring your data onto a second device.  

This article will explain how to add various attributes to your iCloud backup option so that all desired data can be saved safety to your iCloud account on a nightly basis.  But first, a few basics:

When you sign up for iCloud, you automatically get 5 GB of free storage.  This can quickly get eaten up by music and picture files, so if you need to purchase more storage, you may find more information on how to do so here.  

What is Automatically backed up by Default?

iCloud automatically backs up the information on your devices—iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch—over Wi-Fi every day when the device is turned on, locked, and connected to a power source. When your iOS device information is backed up in iCloud, you can easily set up a new device or restore information on one you already have.

Here’s what iCloud backs up:

Select which iOS apps to back up

Many apps automatically back up to iCloud after you install them. But some applications take up more data than others, or may be just as important as those that are saved automatically.  Therefore, you can change which apps back up to iCloud and remove existing backups of that app's data from your storage.

Use these steps on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:

  1. Tap Settings > iCloud.
    • If you're using iOS 8 or later, tap Storage > Manage Storage.
    • If you're using an earlier version of iOS, tap Storage & Backup > Manage Storage.
  2. Tap the name of your iOS device.
  3. Under Backup Options, select the apps that you want to back up or turn off those that you no longer want to backup.

When you're asked to confirm, choose Turn Off & Delete to turn off the option of Backing up for that app.  This will remove all of its data from iCloud.

** Please note that once you turn off the backing up of that application and confirm it, all data will be wiped from previous backups.  You will not have the ability to go back through your iCloud storage to find that data afterward.

You may also select the option to turn off all backups, although this is not recommended, as you will loose all ability to restore your device in the event of theft, damage or corruption.  Choose carefully when considering any changes to this area.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful